January 12, 2015 // Marche Républicaine

DSC_0020_bis4_crop

As mentioned in my post from yesterday, January 11, 2015 was kind of a historic day for France… close to 4 million people took to the streets of various cities (I think it was about 1.5 million for Paris) to protest for freedom of speech and against terrorism. I know people are criticizing politicians for instrumentalizing the events, the sorrow, the march, but I think they’re missing the point. Of course they’re going to do that, it’s basically their job, and so what? No one party asked people to gather en masse like that. The government made the march official but the movement was started without them. And I don’t think the extremely moving reaction that France as a people had should be belittled because of politics, it goes beyond that.

A few other shots from that day can be viewed here.

Leave a comment